The official site of the City of West Jordan, Utah 8000 S. Redwood Rd., West Jordan, Utah 84088 - (801) 569-5000  
Welcome to West Jordan... home of the good neighbor
Follow us on Twitter  Facebook Search wjordan.com -  powered byGoogle Power
West Jordan wide open spaces
Skip Navigation Links
City Newsroom
Upcoming Events
Press Releases
Contact Us
  Contact the Legislature
   
  The New Automobile Dealership Act of 1991 is especially detrimental to cities in fast growing areas of the state. The sales tax on the purchase of a new car is substantial, but there is also the continued sales tax generated from auto maintenance and upkeep. Of those who purchase a new car from a dealership, a substantial number will return to that dealership over and over again for routine service and maintenance. Cities without car dealerships suffer a huge loss of potential tax revenue that they depend on to provide public services like police, fire, roads, parks, and more.

Residents are also forced to drive many extra miles round trip just to service their vehicle. That seems not only unfair, but ludicrous, especially in a state where air quality is at the forefront of our public discussion.

When you start to look at all the unnecessary harm caused by this unfair state law, it’s easy to see that Utahns are being taken for a ride.

How can you help? Get involved. Call or email the Governor, Lieutenant Governor and your state legislators today.

Ask them to support HB290 with changes to reduce the radius to 5-miles – without requiring approval from anyone!

Let’s unite and tell our legislators to make this right.

Contact Information

Senator Wayne Harper: Senate Distinct 6; Phone: 801-566-5466, Email: wharper@le.utah.gov
Senator Aaron Osmond: Senate District 10; Phone: 801-888-8742, Email: aosmond@le.utah.gov
Senator Daniel Thatcher: Senate District 12; Phone: 801-759-4746, Email: dthatcher@le.utah.gov
Representative Eric Hutchings: House District 38; Phone: 801-963-2639, Email: ehutchings@le.utah.gov
Representative Kim Coleman: House District 42; Phone: 801-890-4675, Email: kimcoleman@le.utah.gov
Representative Earl Tanner: House District 43; Phone: 801-792-2156, Email: earltanner@le.utah.gov
Representative Ken Ivory: House District 47; Phone: 801-694-8380, Email: kivory@le.utah.gov

Not sure who your Legislators are? Visit le.utah.gov
Copyright © 2016 - 8000 S. Redwood Rd., UT 84088 - (801) 569-5000  Privacy Policy  Contact Webmaster